Fantastic Lighting…I mean, yummy cookies!

28 Jun

Alas, a lot of people seriously think that. And if it’s in a magazine, or a blog, pfft, who cares! No one’s gonna eat it that’s reading it! But I have to have this food stick around in my kitchen, or at work, so it’s gotta taste good. Sometimes that means it has to be dipped in straight up Hershey’s milk chocolate. Ok, screw that, I really just wanted to post these photos because the lighting is ridiculously warm and fantastic.

Mmm, can my mouth be a camera?

Mmm, can my mouth be a camera?

Chocolate Dipped Cinnamon Cookies

  • 1 package Betty Crocker Sugar Cookie Mix (and eggs/oil to prep)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (I like dark)
  • 1 T Vanilla Extract (only Adam’s will do here in Texas)
  • Cinnamon to taste (Yep, you have permission to taste)
  • 6 oz melted milk chocolate (Hershey’s is best)
  • Roasted almonds, chopped (optional)
Undipped little friends - needs cropping

Undipped little friends - needs cropping

Pretty self explanatory – mix up the dough according to the directions, and add the brown sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Maybe even some salt, if you’re feeling it, but you could save that for the chocolate instead. Mmm chocolate with a little salt – I bet some salted peanuts would work well on top too…Ok, roll them into perfect little tablespoon balls and bake, and once they cool, introduce them to the melted chocolate and almonds(I just heated it up a few seconds at a time in my microwave – my microwave with no settings under 1 minute. Thanks Bulldog). Some I dipped for a half and half thing, other I just smothered the chocolate on top. Mmm. These were ok, if I did it again, I’d do it from scratch and just make them snickerdoodles (why didn’t I just do that in the first place). But I had some random ingredients (cookie mix, Easter chocolate – I’m a salad monster, not a chocoholic), so I whipped these up and they liked them at work.

But mostly, I took photos. Just let your eyes feast on the 5:00 sun coming in the back window.

Ooh they are so pretty!

Ooh they are so pretty!

Oh yeah, all these photos are from my Flickr, and done with just a little Canon point and shoot from let’s say 2006? Yeah, no manual focus. Sucks. My only other camera is a Canon AE-1 and I can’t get to close with it because I only have a 50 mm lens. I ♡ good depth of field.

Leave a Reply

