Oatmeal Applesauce Remix and Key Lime Pie

20 Jan

In lieu of no photos, I’ve decided to actually post the recipes and instructions for these. I’ve finally found my camera battery and charger, so I’ll be able to have my camera with me at home and on the go. Expect better photos soon!

I’ve been meaning to make some more healthful cookies for my brother Bucky, who’s been on Nutrisystem and trying to be all healthy. I take him these delicious chocolate chip cookies made with 2 sticks of butter and he wolfs them down, and then I feel bad for throwing off his diet. But this time I decided to finally make something he can eat that is a nice hearty cookie with around 100 calories each!

I modified Martha’s Oatmeal Applesauce Cookie recipe. I halved the butter and used mashed banana to replace it, resulting in sweeter, more moist cookies. I also switched out 1/4 cup of flour for flax, which next time I think I will just add in the flax on top of the flour. I threw in about 3/4 to 1 cup of each toasted walnuts and carob chips, AND I used whole wheat flour and cut out the maple icing. How’s that for more healthful? Flax, whole wheat flour, nuts, oats, bananas, AND apples! OH and I added a tablespoon of molassesiron and calcium!

These were really good, Bucky ate 4 straight from the oven, and everyone else ate at least two. They were nice and soft and very moist, and sweet – next time I’ll cut down on the brown sugar to make them a little more crisp and less sweet – the bananas added a fair amount of sweetness. They were even better then next day! I am definitely trying these again, to perfect my healthful cookie recipe, along with trying different flavor combos – almonds and orange, lemon and blueberries, any ideas?

Oatmeal Applesauce Healthful Remix [Banana/Walnut/Carob]

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies

  • 2 Tbsp melted unsalted butter
  • 2 Tbsp mashed ripe banana
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulate sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp maple extract
  • 1 Tbsp molasses
  • 1 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup toasted walnuts, chopped
  • 3/4 cup carob chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.
  2. Put butter, banana, and sugars in a bowl and beat them until well combined. Lower the speed and add the egg, then the applesauce, then the extracts and molasses. Stir in the dry ingredients in three batches. Stir in the walnuts and carob chips.
  3. Your dough my be very sticky, so chill in the freezer until it is easier to handle. Using a tablespoon measure and a normal spoon or your finger, measure level tablespoons of dough and drop onto cookie sheets lined with parchment paper, 9 to a sheet. Bake for 12-14 minutes, until the centers are just about set. Let cool for  a minute or two on the sheets, then remove to cooling rack to cool fully. Let these sit for a day for the flavors to meld for an even more excellent treat.

Next up is the key lime pie. This recipe is Martha’s Key Lime Bars from Joe’s Stone Crab restaurant, but I used a 9-inch pie plate instead of an 8×8 for bars. I ground up some toasted pistachios to use in the crust, but I don’t think it made a difference. Also, I used normal limes, not key limes, because juicing 3-4 limes is a pain, but 23+? That’s crazy!! I ended up throwing in a very generous tablespoon more of lime juice, which made the tartness just right. If you like a more tart key lime pie, start with the recommended 2/3 cup and add lime juice by the tablespoon until you get the desired flavor.

The crust was so good!! Mmm, delicious graham cracker crust, just a little sugary, I made sure to make extra for my mom and I to snack on. The filling was amazing! Super easy to put together (once you get past the tediousness of juicing limes), just egg yolks, lime juice, and sweetened condensed milk. On top of that, it only has to bake about 10 minutes (I ended up baking mine considerably longer, more like 20 minutes, which is weird, because circle or square, they have the same area). Between the eight of us, the pie was gone by the end of the night (and I cut everyone very small peices!)!

I normally hate key lime pie, but this was amazing, and has made me not hate this tart little dessert – at least not this recipe. I’d definitely say try it out next time you need a quick, light tasting dessert – try mini key lime pies or bars and freeze them for special treats every now and then!

Joe’s Stone Crab Key Lime Pie

Adapted from Martha Stewart

  • 1 cup + 2 1/2 tablespoons finely ground graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons finely grated lime zest
  • 2/3 cup fresh Key lime juice , (about 23 Key limes total)
  • 1 cup sweetened condensed milk, (14 ounces)
  1. Preaheat oven to 150. Grease a 9 inch pie plate. In a small bowl, mix together graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and melted butter and press evenly into the bottom and all the way up the sides of the pie plate. Bake for 10 minutes, until you can just start to smell it and the top of the crust is turning a light golden brown. Let cool (or pop into the fridge).
  2. In a bowl, beat egg yolks and lime zest until lightened and fluffy. Gradually mix in sweetened condensed milk. Add lime juice. Add more lime juice by the tablespoon to taste if you like a more tart, limier pie.
  3. Pour filling into pie crust and bake for 10 minutes, until center of pie is set and no longer jiggly. Remove, let cool, and pop into the fridge until ready to serve with a dollop of whipped cream and lime zest for garnish.

Coming up tomorrow: Rose Levy Berenbaum’s Shamah Almond Chiffon Cake with Raspberry Whipped Cream from Rose’s Heavenly Cakes. DO. NOT. MISS. IT.

Leave a Reply

